What I love about washi tape…and a GIVEAWAY!

Most of you have heard of Washi Tape already. It’s the wonder tape that transforms practically anything into a crafty masterpiece!

washi

What Is Washi Tape?

To put it simply, washi tape is a high quality masking tape made of rice paper.

But more than that, washi tape is a material which is beautiful yet useful at the same time. You can tear it, stick it, reposition it, write on it… The low tack adhesive makes it extremely easy to use (and reuse). I think it is so popular because it is so easy to use – and looks good while doing it!

 

Why is Washi Tape featured on my blog?

I like re-purposing brown paper bags, old boxes and cardboard instead of throwing it away. So with Washi Tape, I can make my DIY projects even prettier. Want to know how versatile it is? Just type in Washi Tape when browsing on Pinterest and see what you get! These are a few things I found:

 

This is perfect for office uses. Add photos of loved ones to brighten up your space!

This is perfect for office uses. Add photos of loved ones to brighten up your space!

I used this idea for Christmas gifts!

I used this idea for Christmas gifts!

idea5 idea4 idea3 idea2 idea

I used some of the ideas above when making my Christmas presents. Every year I want to make handmade gifts, but never get the time to. For Christmas 2012, I decided I’m going DIY! All the gifts were made by hand (including Relish, and mini Spekboompies we planted) and I used washi tape to decorate the parcels and also to decorate the pencils and clips.Usually these rolls go for about R35 to R40, but Snap n Scrap regularly have them on special for R28 each.

I hope after reading this post, you can’t wait to get your hands on some tape. So to get you started, we have some rolls to give away!

 

Snap-n-Scrap Scrapbooking & Crafts gave us 3 beautiful rolls to give away to one lucky reader!

What you need to do:

  • LIKE the Green Thinking ZA page on Facebook and/or FOLLOW @rochkay on Twitter
  • LIKE the Snap-n-Scrap page on Facebook
  • Join the Snap-n-Scrap newsletter here.
  • Leave a comment and tell me what you love about Washi Tape

Competition ends 8 February 2013 and winner will be announced on 11 February 2013.

*Competition only open to South African residents.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chicara Joubert
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 11:12:57

    I LOVE Washi tape. Anything that helps make packaging even prettier is right up my alley. So pretty! :)

    Reply

  2. City Girl Vibe
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 14:50:51

    Done all of the above. I love washi tape because it gives “old” items a new face and can instantly take it from drab to fab. I also love how it can give gifts a touch of a personal feeling which makes gifts way more special.

    Reply

  3. fayinthemaze
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 12:51:23

    Oh my hat! I can see my self cutting sticking and wrapping EVERYTHING! :D I adore this. I love that its so versatile and the pretty patterns I have seen, the only problem is I can see a Washi tape obsession developing and I’m going to want all of them. Sigh. ♥

    Reply

  4. Jenny Broom
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 07:02:22

    I don’t know why I love washi tape as I have not tried it yet but I can’t wait to try it as I have so much about it …..watch this space

    Reply

  5. CHANTAL
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 07:09:34

    I love washi tape because it can instantly transform almost anything from drab to craft fab with a handmade touch!

    Reply

  6. Rene Oberholzer
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 07:28:33

    Ek het nog nie van die Washi Tape gekoop nie maar as ek al die mooi goedjies sien wat ek kan maak wil ek beslis van dit aanskaf. Groete Rene Oberholzer. Dankie dat julle dit vir ons moontlik maak om van dit te kan wen

    Reply

  7. Marinda Bezuidenhout
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 09:32:17

    Would be lovely to try such a fascinating new product.

    Reply

  8. Lizeth
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 10:07:24

    I’m “in love” with washi, so many options of things to do and dream up. I’m growing an obsession and would love to feed it more.

    Reply

  9. Amanda de Jonge
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 11:01:55

    Done all that is required.
    I love washi tape because: You don’t have to put glue/double sided tape on it – it’s already sticky; it comes in the most gorgeous colors and patterns; it transforms a card instantly; you can wrap it around candles (and whatever else takes your fancy); you can write on it; stick it on anything (eg make a picture on your child’s bedroom window or wall); transform an ordinary glass only photo frame, etc, etc, etc . VBG! There is just so much that one can do with it – endless possibilities.
    Thanks for the candy offer Green Thinking ZA and Snap-and-Scrap for sponsoring it!

    Reply

  10. Kleintjie Joubert
    Jan 29, 2013 @ 18:41:12

    It is awesome to use in my scrapbooking aswell as cardmaking!!

    Reply

  11. elsa visagie
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 16:10:41

    Ook nog nooit van die washi tape gekoop nie, dit lyk net kleurvol en kan n vervelige prent opkikker. Hou van al die kleure en patrone.

    Reply

  12. Cathy
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 07:38:05

    I’ve just used washi tape this past month for the first time…. love how quick and easy it is to add to a layout to give it just that little bit of extra zoosh. Awesome.

    Reply

  13. Kleintjie Joubert
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 08:10:23

    Can,t wait to see who will win the tape!!!

    Reply

  14. Annatjie Kruger
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 09:07:25

    I must be honest. I have not yet use the Washi tape, but it looks amazing and I would love to use it in all my crafts. It looks as if the possibilities are endless.

    Reply

  15. Annatjie Kruger
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 09:09:20

    I must be honest. I have not yet use the Washi tape, but it looks amazing and I would love to use it in all my crafts. It looks as if the possibilities are endless.

    Reply

  16. greenthinkin
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 06:32:08

    And the winner is Chantal!!! Congrats! Please send us your postal address so Snap-n-Scrap can post your goodies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

